The New Normal

So here we are Friday, and what a week it has been. Had a new cast put on my arm, S saw me for the final time, I’m having a wheelchair assessment done and I attended my first social gathering since May.

I have also had a really good appointment at speech therapy this week. We sat down and talked about how we talk, how the sounds are made and where it all comes from. This is very interesting as we just take talking as something we do naturally and if I’m honest I have never thought about how you actually talk. Now some of you already know that I have developed a stutter, I can sometimes tell that I am doing as it is hard to find my words or even get them out, but sometimes I don’t even know I am doing it. I have been working with the speech therapist to try and understand what has happened, and I have learnt something very interesting, if I whisper or sing a song which I know well……..No Stutter?!?!?

I have been refereed by my occupational therapist this week for what is called the wheelchair assessment, the chair I have at the moment is one which is very bulky and heavy. Getting this in and out of the car is a pain. So hopefully I will have a new set of wheels in the weeks to come!

I have been contacted by a few of my work friends this week, now this has made me feel both happy and sad! I really appreciate them contacted me and asking how I am, but it makes me this about work, how much I want to get back to it. I know that I am not ready to get back to work just yet but by heck I am determined that I will be back!

Picture I took of the bees on the lavender in the garden!!

The big thing that has happened this week is that I attended a BBQ which Rachels head of department organised, now this is the first social thing I have been to since May, I was a bag of nerves, I didn’t know how people would see me, would they be patronising or sympathetic, would they ask a lot of questions and would I get flustered? Well none of this happened and they were very polite and kept checking I was okay and if I needed anything, which brings me to the title, is this the new normal?

My sunflowers in the front garden!

Now weekend is upon us and we have a packed weekend ahead, starting with today, Me and Rachel are taking my eldest (Grace) out for lunch while Florence is at nursery, and Saturday and Sunday are packed with fun with the kids! Finally Paul came back out of hospital yesterday, he is back home and resting up after surgery, get well soon mush! Oh and we are going to take the kids to Chester Zoo next week, I’m not sure who is more excited Me, Rachel or the Kids!

Untill Next Time

Stay Safe!

One thought on “The New Normal

  1. bchloe6021

    On Fri, 2 Aug 2019 at 10:30, A Day living with FND wrote:

    > matthewnewsham posted: ” So here we are Friday, and what a week it has > been. Had a new cast put on my arm, S saw me for the final time, I’m having > a wheelchair assessment done and I attended my first social gathering since > May. I have also had a really good appointment a” >

    Like

Leave a comment