A new life?

Hello and how are you? Sorry it has been a while since I last posted up a blog, but I have been busy with other things and the blog has taken a little bit of a back seat.

Any way I hope you are well and enjoy these random ramblings, that your about to read.

I sit and wonder where to start as between this, my podcast and my new job life has become a little bit strange for me.  I have been concentrating on other things trying to keep myself busy.

I ask myself daily what the goals for the day are, and to be truthful I just keep my fingers crossed and hope I can make it through the day. Which ever way that may look like, I put the mask on and hope for the best.

My mental health is doing well right now, this must be down to the new medication I am taking. Some in the morning and some before bed, this must be right for me now as things have settled down for me. I mentioned this to my support worker who has been looking after me while I am still adjusting, and their honest opinion was that it could be the medication but also could be the fact that Rachel is at home with me adding extra support.

Talking of support, I wouldn’t be where I am today if it wasn’t for them close to me. My wife, kids, mother, mother-in-law, and grandparents. They have been the one thing that holds me together and I really realised that today while doing an interview and talking about FND and my family, without them I really don’t know where I would be so thank you all for all your help. I am also very lucky to have the friends which really look after me Gareth and Claire are my family to me, and they do so much without even knowing. Therefore, if there is anything I can do for them I will. I am also getting 44 hours a week care starting in September and this cannot come soon enough, knowing that I will have someone around everyday to help is a massive load off not only mine but Rachels mind as well.

The FND is doing okay right now, I am learning how to cope with the daily challenges, from weakness to legs not working properly. Everyday can be different but I am learning to listen to my body and not too stress to much about what is happening around me.

As I said earlier, I have started a new job, I am now the Support Coordinator for FND Action – the first UK charity set up for people with FND. This is a true honour to do, and I thank everyone at FND Action for giving me this opportunity, I will not let you down.  If you need any additional support and you think I maybe able to help then please drop me an email I will put it at the end of this post, or even if you just want a chat. I will be more than happy to try and help.

So, this week my family was hit with some big news, and that was that one of my closest family members has breast cancer. For this person it must be the hardest thing to come to terms with and I honestly don’t know how they are keeping it together and still going to work so on and do forth. While this cancer has been found early and the prognosis looks good for this family member, it must be hard. I had next to no sleep last night just over thinking it in my head. I will tell you know if you take anything away from this post, it is, if you get asked to go for a check please do as you never know what it will bring up, better be safe then sorry yeah?

I leave you with this, life sometimes is very hard, you never know what the person beside you is going through so maybe take just a short second to check in on someone. This doesn’t even have to be a person you know, where ever your reading this, just ask the person next you if they are okay? See if there is anything you can help them with. The world is a wicked place and if we all just took a moment to check in on someone know and again we would live in a much better world.

Until next time, please stay safe and I’ll see you shortly!

matthew@fndaction.org.uk

This is post is dedicated to my Grandad Mike Wilkinson RIP OLD MAN

06.06.1942 – 11.07.2020

Leave a comment